HomeHome  PortalPortal  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log in  
openFate
openFATE - openSUSE feature tracking
Similar topics
Latest topics
» Difference between 42.2 and 42.1
by findoctr Thu Dec 15, 2016 7:53 pm

» openSUSE Leap 42.1 ?
by findoctr Fri Feb 05, 2016 8:09 pm

» Happy Turkey Day
by findoctr Thu Nov 26, 2015 1:45 pm

» Happy 4th of July!
by bozo Sat Jul 04, 2015 12:56 pm

» It's been a while ...
by bozo Mon Feb 23, 2015 8:34 pm

» Mondo chillers
by bozo Wed Feb 18, 2015 5:11 am

Navigation
 Portal
 Index
 Memberlist
 Profile
 FAQ
 Search
IRC Channel
You can also find us on IRC's freenode.net as #suseunbound.

Share | 
 

 OwnCloud any opinions?

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
bdquick
Admin
avatar

Posts : 583
Join date : 2010-02-22
Age : 37
Location : Central Iowa

PostSubject: OwnCloud any opinions?   Wed Feb 12, 2014 8:40 pm

Just curious if anyone has tried OwnCloud.  http://owncloud.org/

Looks like an interesting way to get share files across the web, or even just within the house.  I'm wanting to get something up and going again where I can have remote access to my files at home.  Just haven't decided how to do it.

_________________
I'm here where ever here is.
Back to top Go down
bozo
Admin
avatar

Posts : 402
Join date : 2010-02-23
Location : Way out in the sticks in the Gold Country of California

PostSubject: Re: OwnCloud any opinions?   Thu Feb 13, 2014 4:06 pm

Don't know any specifics about it; when I read about it, it seemed like, in concept at least, it's just setting up your own file server with remote access. The concept didn't seem like anything new. I've been wrong before.

 clown 

_________________
"The trouble with quotes on the internet is that you never know if they are genuine." - Abraham Lincoln
Back to top Go down
bdquick
Admin
avatar

Posts : 583
Join date : 2010-02-22
Age : 37
Location : Central Iowa

PostSubject: Re: OwnCloud any opinions?   Sun Feb 23, 2014 6:12 pm

No I agree its not earth shattering, but it might save time configuring things. It also includes some nice features like the ability to create a picture slideshow and share with family over the internet. Nothing that can't be done anyway, but if it helps me be lazier then I'm for it.

_________________
I'm here where ever here is.
Back to top Go down
bozo
Admin
avatar

Posts : 402
Join date : 2010-02-23
Location : Way out in the sticks in the Gold Country of California

PostSubject: Re: OwnCloud any opinions?   Sun Feb 23, 2014 6:32 pm

I agree, easy is good.

Good to hear from somebody. I've been wondering if any one had survived the winter.

 clown 

_________________
"The trouble with quotes on the internet is that you never know if they are genuine." - Abraham Lincoln
Back to top Go down
bdquick
Admin
avatar

Posts : 583
Join date : 2010-02-22
Age : 37
Location : Central Iowa

PostSubject: Re: OwnCloud any opinions?   Mon Mar 03, 2014 7:59 pm

I'm sick of winter, but I can't make it up to welan's Mondo Chillers so that I can clog them with corn stalks.

_________________
I'm here where ever here is.
Back to top Go down
bozo
Admin
avatar

Posts : 402
Join date : 2010-02-23
Location : Way out in the sticks in the Gold Country of California

PostSubject: Re: OwnCloud any opinions?   Wed Mar 19, 2014 12:54 pm

ownCloud @ Chemnitzer Linuxtage 2014

Brian, you may have seen this already, but just in case ...

 clown

_________________
"The trouble with quotes on the internet is that you never know if they are genuine." - Abraham Lincoln
Back to top Go down
bdquick
Admin
avatar

Posts : 583
Join date : 2010-02-22
Age : 37
Location : Central Iowa

PostSubject: Re: OwnCloud any opinions?   Tue Mar 25, 2014 7:50 pm

Its still on my TODO list. I just need time. Anyone know where to find that at?

_________________
I'm here where ever here is.
Back to top Go down
bozo
Admin
avatar

Posts : 402
Join date : 2010-02-23
Location : Way out in the sticks in the Gold Country of California

PostSubject: Re: OwnCloud any opinions?   Tue Mar 25, 2014 9:35 pm

I've found that if you give up eating, the wife and family, and job, you may be able to find *some* time, never as much as you would like, for your hobbies.  What a Face 

 clown

_________________
"The trouble with quotes on the internet is that you never know if they are genuine." - Abraham Lincoln
Back to top Go down
bdquick
Admin
avatar

Posts : 583
Join date : 2010-02-22
Age : 37
Location : Central Iowa

PostSubject: Re: OwnCloud any opinions?   Mon Mar 31, 2014 6:54 pm

bozo wrote:
I've found that if you give up eating, the wife and family, and job, you may be able to find *some* time, never as much as you would like, for your hobbies.  What a Face 

 clown

Sounds about right.  Smile 

_________________
I'm here where ever here is.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: OwnCloud any opinions?   

Back to top Go down
 
OwnCloud any opinions?
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Opinions your top 5 best $5 PSN games?
» Casey Anthony Acquitted Of Murder Charge

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
SUSEUnbound :: LIGHTEN UP! THE PLACE TO TAKE THINGS LESS SERIOUS. ;) :: General-
Jump to: