HomeHome  PortalPortal  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log in  
openFate
OwnCloud any opinions? Fatelogo_small openFATE - openSUSE feature tracking
Similar topics
Latest topics
» Difference between 42.2 and 42.1
OwnCloud any opinions? Emptyby findoctr Thu Dec 15, 2016 7:53 pm

» openSUSE Leap 42.1 ?
OwnCloud any opinions? Emptyby findoctr Fri Feb 05, 2016 8:09 pm

» Happy Turkey Day
OwnCloud any opinions? Emptyby findoctr Thu Nov 26, 2015 1:45 pm

» Happy 4th of July!
OwnCloud any opinions? Emptyby bozo Sat Jul 04, 2015 12:56 pm

» It's been a while ...
OwnCloud any opinions? Emptyby bozo Mon Feb 23, 2015 8:34 pm

» Mondo chillers
OwnCloud any opinions? Emptyby bozo Wed Feb 18, 2015 5:11 am

Navigation
 Portal
 Index
 Memberlist
 Profile
 FAQ
 Search
IRC Channel
You can also find us on IRC's freenode.net as #suseunbound.

Share
 

 OwnCloud any opinions?

Go down 
AuthorMessage
bdquick
Admin
bdquick

Posts : 583
Join date : 2010-02-22
Age : 39
Location : Central Iowa

OwnCloud any opinions? Empty
PostSubject: OwnCloud any opinions?   OwnCloud any opinions? EmptyWed Feb 12, 2014 8:40 pm

Just curious if anyone has tried OwnCloud.  http://owncloud.org/

Looks like an interesting way to get share files across the web, or even just within the house.  I'm wanting to get something up and going again where I can have remote access to my files at home.  Just haven't decided how to do it.

_________________
I'm here where ever here is.
Back to top Go down
bozo
Admin
bozo

Posts : 402
Join date : 2010-02-23
Location : Way out in the sticks in the Gold Country of California

OwnCloud any opinions? Empty
PostSubject: Re: OwnCloud any opinions?   OwnCloud any opinions? EmptyThu Feb 13, 2014 4:06 pm

Don't know any specifics about it; when I read about it, it seemed like, in concept at least, it's just setting up your own file server with remote access. The concept didn't seem like anything new. I've been wrong before.

 clown 

_________________
"The trouble with quotes on the internet is that you never know if they are genuine." - Abraham Lincoln
OwnCloud any opinions? United_States OwnCloud any opinions? California
Back to top Go down
bdquick
Admin
bdquick

Posts : 583
Join date : 2010-02-22
Age : 39
Location : Central Iowa

OwnCloud any opinions? Empty
PostSubject: Re: OwnCloud any opinions?   OwnCloud any opinions? EmptySun Feb 23, 2014 6:12 pm

No I agree its not earth shattering, but it might save time configuring things. It also includes some nice features like the ability to create a picture slideshow and share with family over the internet. Nothing that can't be done anyway, but if it helps me be lazier then I'm for it.

_________________
I'm here where ever here is.
Back to top Go down
bozo
Admin
bozo

Posts : 402
Join date : 2010-02-23
Location : Way out in the sticks in the Gold Country of California

OwnCloud any opinions? Empty
PostSubject: Re: OwnCloud any opinions?   OwnCloud any opinions? EmptySun Feb 23, 2014 6:32 pm

I agree, easy is good.

Good to hear from somebody. I've been wondering if any one had survived the winter.

 clown 

_________________
"The trouble with quotes on the internet is that you never know if they are genuine." - Abraham Lincoln
OwnCloud any opinions? United_States OwnCloud any opinions? California
Back to top Go down
bdquick
Admin
bdquick

Posts : 583
Join date : 2010-02-22
Age : 39
Location : Central Iowa

OwnCloud any opinions? Empty
PostSubject: Re: OwnCloud any opinions?   OwnCloud any opinions? EmptyMon Mar 03, 2014 7:59 pm

I'm sick of winter, but I can't make it up to welan's Mondo Chillers so that I can clog them with corn stalks.

_________________
I'm here where ever here is.
Back to top Go down
bozo
Admin
bozo

Posts : 402
Join date : 2010-02-23
Location : Way out in the sticks in the Gold Country of California

OwnCloud any opinions? Empty
PostSubject: Re: OwnCloud any opinions?   OwnCloud any opinions? EmptyWed Mar 19, 2014 12:54 pm

ownCloud @ Chemnitzer Linuxtage 2014

Brian, you may have seen this already, but just in case ...

 clown

_________________
"The trouble with quotes on the internet is that you never know if they are genuine." - Abraham Lincoln
OwnCloud any opinions? United_States OwnCloud any opinions? California
Back to top Go down
bdquick
Admin
bdquick

Posts : 583
Join date : 2010-02-22
Age : 39
Location : Central Iowa

OwnCloud any opinions? Empty
PostSubject: Re: OwnCloud any opinions?   OwnCloud any opinions? EmptyTue Mar 25, 2014 7:50 pm

Its still on my TODO list. I just need time. Anyone know where to find that at?

_________________
I'm here where ever here is.
Back to top Go down
bozo
Admin
bozo

Posts : 402
Join date : 2010-02-23
Location : Way out in the sticks in the Gold Country of California

OwnCloud any opinions? Empty
PostSubject: Re: OwnCloud any opinions?   OwnCloud any opinions? EmptyTue Mar 25, 2014 9:35 pm

I've found that if you give up eating, the wife and family, and job, you may be able to find *some* time, never as much as you would like, for your hobbies.  What a Face 

 clown

_________________
"The trouble with quotes on the internet is that you never know if they are genuine." - Abraham Lincoln
OwnCloud any opinions? United_States OwnCloud any opinions? California
Back to top Go down
bdquick
Admin
bdquick

Posts : 583
Join date : 2010-02-22
Age : 39
Location : Central Iowa

OwnCloud any opinions? Empty
PostSubject: Re: OwnCloud any opinions?   OwnCloud any opinions? EmptyMon Mar 31, 2014 6:54 pm

bozo wrote:
I've found that if you give up eating, the wife and family, and job, you may be able to find *some* time, never as much as you would like, for your hobbies.  What a Face 

 clown

Sounds about right.  Smile 

_________________
I'm here where ever here is.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




OwnCloud any opinions? Empty
PostSubject: Re: OwnCloud any opinions?   OwnCloud any opinions? Empty

Back to top Go down
 
OwnCloud any opinions?
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Nutrition Opinions

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
SUSEUnbound :: LIGHTEN UP! THE PLACE TO TAKE THINGS LESS SERIOUS. ;) :: General-
Jump to: