by bozo Wed Feb 18, 2015 5:11 am

Navigation
 Portal
 Index
 Memberlist
 FAQ
 Search
IRC Channel
You can also find us on IRC's freenode.net as #suseunbound.

Share | 

How To: Defrag Hard Disk

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
limo
Old Regular

PostSubject: How To: Defrag Hard Disk   Wed Jun 29, 2011 11:45 am

Don't Take The Following as a Real Expert HOWTO, because I'm no expert UNLESS ENDORSED BY MORE EXPERIENCED USERS HERE

Well... I was thinking... and you know the answer mostlly out there, you don't need to defrag in linux a journalled system, and there doen't exist a real defrag tool for linux.

But according to my humble understanding:
1- Yes Linux does not defragment files,ie: a file is always contiguous
2- A little defragmentation might happen especially when your hard disks gets almost full and after a long period of time.

So, generaly defragmentation is not required.

BUT, still you can get yor contiguous files scattered everywhere across your hard disk, and lots of blank spaces between files if you frequently download /delete files.

So I thought of something I assume will ... ahem... "defrag" your files in the home directory,or whatever by simply doing the following:
1- Copy or move the home directory (or whatever you need to defrag) to another directory / partition / external hard disk... ie somwhere else
2- delete the original folder with all the files on it (eg. home folder... make it blank).
3- restore them back to where you want.

I assume retrieving the files will cause them to be written just next to each other from the begining of the disk without blanks in between,

I assume this will reduce the time needed to access the files as the head won't need to be going from that part to that part on the disk... this will - I think - reduce the need of mechanical movements by the head and the hard disk spinnig to access contiguos files scattered everywhere.

Would this really defrag the user data files?

Please enlighten me.